Aims, Trustees & Artists

Art Care Education (ACE) is the registered charity that runs ACEarts.

 Our principle aim as a charity is to promote art and creative activity, to inspire, empower and enable people to develop and grow.

We do this by

Giving a platform to artists and makers
Providing creative activities and courses for all ages and abilities
Delivering creative projects focusing on community health and wellbeing.


Current Trustees


Sir (John) Sebastian Chance Bt (Chair)

BA Hons Fine Art, career has been an Art Teacher in various parts of the UK and is a sculptor and artist. Trustee since 1.3.18

Shirley Chapman

Building Society financial management and retired Assistant Director Community Services (Somerset Care), now freelance administrator. Trustee since Jan 2017, Vice Chair

Andrew Elfick

Andrew trained as a Business Systems Analyst and worked in the financial industry for several years before starting a small Management Consultancy specialising in change and project management.  He moved from South East London to the Somerset Levels in 2002 before moving into South Petherton in 2018.  He has been active with ACEarts from its early days and became a Trustee in 2020.

Sandra Meech

A stitched textile and mixed media artist originally from a background in advertising and graphic design.  Inspired by landscapes both in Polar regions and closer to home in Somerset, Sandra has taught internationally and written several textile design books. Trustee since January 2023


We are currently looking for new trustees to join us and work with our experienced board. Click here to read our Trustee Recruitment Pack.

Appeal update February 2023

As Chair of the Trustees for ACEarts, I am very pleased to announce that the Old Town Hall is now under new private ownership.  Following the launch of the appeal in the summer of 2022, our new landlord approached us about purchasing the building for the benefit of the charity.

The sale was completed in January 2023 and provides us with a 25 year lease for the building together with favourable rent terms.  This means that ACEarts now has greater financial security and the prospect of a long and exciting future with a local landlord who is keen to help us develop our work and to remain as a valuable community asset in Somerton.

Sir Sebastian Chance Bt



We are proud to represent the following artists, designers and makers:


Patrick Caruth, Kate Lynch, Red Robin books, Kate Mears, Ann Evans & Sandra Meech


Dennis Chinaworks, Jo Lucksted,  Frank Martin, West End Pottery, Nick Rees, Paul Stubs & Ella Philips


  Shakspeare Glass


Caroline Parrott, Prue Biddle, Sue Hall, Maggie Laing, Penny Price, Solange, Julia Thompson, Holly Webb, Rachel Reilly, Ann Bruford,  Misha Seelhoff, Elly Englefield-Morgans, Janice Petitjean & Ruth Lyne


Brian Hutchings & John Waters


Ann Fagan, Barbara Karn, Kaye Parmenter, Steve Manning, Lis Biesty, Annie Musgrove, Pauline Pearce, Sky Siouki, Andrea Clark, Stephanie Myler & Lynn Keddie


Angela Morley, Lisa Purchase, Pippa Hill, Pamela Stewart-Pearson, Sheena Spacey, Sue Masters, Chris Kampf, Jo Horrobin & The Little Paper Factory


Buffy Fletcher, Chloe Morter, Jennie Loader, Lydia Needle, Tessa Harris, Sara Finch, Raggy Roux, Angela Knapp, & Kate Norton


Dave Appleby, Matt Belfrage, Stephen Stokes, Paul O’Donnell, Natty Deco & Jane Leakey

British wildlife Open winner